Tobacco Retailer Compliance
Tobacco Compliance Checks are performed by youth 15-20 years of age under the direction of the Omaha Police Department. Tobacco compliance checks are conducted quarterly on retailers with tobacco licensing and vape shops in the city of Omaha and in Douglas County to help reduce the sale of tobacco, electronic cigarettes and other nicotine products to minors.
Governor Ricketts approved LB1064 on August 15, 2020. In light of LB1064’s enactment, the Nebraska Attorney’s General Office is updating its prior statement regarding tobacco sales. Beginning October 1, 2020, Nebraska law (Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 28-1418 et seq.) will provide that the legal minimum age for use or purchase of tobacco products (including cigarettes, electronic nicotine delivery systems, and other tobacco products) will be 21 years of age. Previously, the Nebraska Attorney’s General Office had advised Nebraska law enforcement and pertinent state agencies to limit enforcement to state law.
State enforcement of the new minimum age of 21 began on October 1, 2020.